VWDieselParts.com

Your place to buy VW Parts
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:01 pm 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
So I did a timing belt swap and now I throw black smoke out at high rpm's

When I did the swap, I locked the pump in place like your are suppose to, and marked the timing belt and gears. I transferred the marks to the new belt, checked all the timing and put back on.

Car runs and drives exactly the same but now blows black smoke.

Any idea? I also changed the oil at the same time.


I can have it in neutral and just floor it and it shoots out black smoke.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:47 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:28 pm
Posts: 6904
Location: north central Iowa
Did you check the cam timing?

_________________
'91 Golf gasser converted to turbo diesel.
'83 Rabbit gasser, converted to diesel, then converted to run on vegetable oil.
2, '84 GTI projects cars


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:03 am 
Offline
Turbo Charger
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:34 pm
Posts: 2021
Location: Gloucester; Limey-Land
Lock it all up again and put the old timming belt back on. If the smoking disappears, then it is a timing issue. If it doesn't then it iis a timing issue :mrgreen: ....

Down to the belt, in the former and you in the latter...

Both cured by adjusting the pump. [ A dial reading with old belt in place before removing would have been useful. :idea: ]

_________________
"I'm not here to help... I'm here to Pro-Volke"

Be like meeee...Drive a Quantum TD
...The best work-horse after the cart...

Quantae grow on you...but Rabbits are like roses...
... girls like em ;o)

Only one Darwin, Einstein, Poe and Verne.
That is why if you listen, you will learn:
From the one and only Quantum-man,
Who sees the worms from outside of the can.

7 Quantae in 20 years; 4 dead and 3 TD's still alive [2 wagons & 1 fastback] oh and a GTD :o)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:08 am 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
pros and cons of just leaving it how it is?

good thing I read this before I took the trash out as the belt is in there.

Timing has to be spot on, but I bet from over the years the other belt stretched some and the fuel timing is out of sync a hair.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:19 am 
Offline
Turbo Charger

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:44 am
Posts: 232
Location: Holmes County OHIO
If you didn't loosen the cam and properly tension the belt, there is the problem. The mark and pray method usually doesn't work as there is no good way to tension the belt without something moving. Make sure to always rotate the engine with a 19mm socket 2 revolutions before touching the starter. If you redo the job correctly you will probably notice you are off from where you should have been.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 2:00 pm 
Offline
Turbo Charger

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:04 am
Posts: 302
Location: Grants Pass, OR
I agree with what he said ^ i`ve never been able to get a really precision time without loosening the cam sprocket and tensioning by hand. I would say there could be some slack in the old belt and all sorts of possible "wear" variables.

_________________
Image
1979 Rabbit NA 1.6 250k
WANTED list


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:33 pm 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
Correct me if I am wrong but the only way to get a "precision time" is to loosen the PUMP and use a dial indicator. Mechanically the crank and cam cant get out of sync because they are keyed on the corresponding shaft correct ( like a gasser)?

I mean they can get out of sync tooth wise but the sprockets cant move on the cam or crank.


Engine runs and drives great still, I swapped out the fuel filter and took my intake foam thing off and it seems to be better, but still a tiny bit of black smoke.

I know im dead nuts belt and tooth wise, I counted and re counted, then spun the crank twice.
She fired RIGHT up no hesitation or anything too.

Im new to diesels but my guess is its the pump needs adjusted now, but I could be wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:50 pm 
Offline
Turbo Charger
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 4:49 pm
Posts: 1585
Location: Springfield, VA
No the cam pulley is a friction fit and has no keyway on the diesel engine. You set the crank to TDC, loosen the cam pulley, line up TDC, the pump mark, and the flat cut on the #4 cylinder end of the cam such that is is 100% parallel to the head - I have a piece of metal I cut to fit in the cam end but there are a few different techniques to get that parallel relationship. Maintain that alignment and tighten up the tensioner and cam pulley bolt and you're good to go. This is oversimplified but the fundamentals are correct. So it's essential that you get the cam times correctly to the crank and then you can tweak pump timing to get performance and mileage as desired

_________________
Bob

'06 Jetta TDI
'82 Rabbit 1.6NA
Honda, F150, S10 Blazer, '41 Chevy Coupe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:37 pm 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
Oh good to know!

Maybe I will do that this weekend.
Just take the top TB cover off, set car to TDC, lock pump into place, take valve cover off, loosen tensioner and loosen cam gear, install that metal piece/make sure cam is flat to head, tighten tensioner, tighten cam gear, reinstall everything and test it out.

Is cam gear bolt one time use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:09 pm 
Offline
Turbo Charger

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Michigami, USA
lo-vw wrote:
Just take the top TB cover off, set car to TDC, lock pump into place, take valve cover off, loosen tensioner and loosen cam gear, install that metal piece/make sure cam is flat to head, tighten tensioner, tighten cam gear, reinstall everything and test it out.
Is cam gear bolt one time use?
Pretty much...

Cam Pulley can be stubborn. A puller to add tension and a whack with a brass mallet is suggested.
Avoid torquing on the flat plate when tightening the cam bolt, the slotted end of the camshaft breaks easily.

_________________
Have a nice day.


'82 Westy 1.9 N/A - 23.5mpg
'86 Jetta TD - 45-50mpg
'89 Jetta N/A - 51mpg
'81 Dasher Wagon 1.6 N/A - 52mpg
'91 Jetta ECOdiesel TD - motor donor, clean shell & tranny for sale
'84 Wasserboxer - DOA, parts donor

'82 Caddy 1.6 N/A - Sold


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:13 pm 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
the gasser cams usually have a hex or spot to put a wrench on the cam. is that how to tighten it/break it loose?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:33 pm 
Offline
Turbo Charger
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 4:49 pm
Posts: 1585
Location: Springfield, VA
Cam bolt is not a one time use. There are a few ways to hold the cam pulley still to loosen and
retighten the bolt. I just put a breaker bar through one of the pulley holes and hold it against the top of the head which has worked for me without head damage but the best way it so have a tool (see tools link on this forum) to hold the pulley still. I may make one of those some day.

_________________
Bob

'06 Jetta TDI
'82 Rabbit 1.6NA
Honda, F150, S10 Blazer, '41 Chevy Coupe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:15 pm 
Offline
Turbo Charger

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:44 pm
Posts: 4696
Location: Green Bay, WI
I have always been successful at loosening and tightening the cam bolt by simply locking the IP first with the pin. It's the first thing I do when I lock the IP.

_________________
Everybody else lists their cars here - but not me.

I have too many to count


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:51 pm 
Offline
Glow Plug

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 12
Sounds good thanks guys!

Does anyone rent or know where I Can get that dial indicator screw in attachment to time the pump?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: rolling coal in netural
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:44 pm 
Offline
Cetane Booster

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:41 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Southern Maryland
I got mine on ebay. There like 50.00 , for 70 you get the dial gauge plus cam lock tool and ip lock pin and spanner tension wrench. I also got the tension gauge for another 55 but it a not required tool.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group